Ontario Research Centre for Computer Algebra
Conferences on Intelligent Computer Mathematics

8th International Conference on
Mathematical Knowledge Management

MKM 2009

Grand Bend, Ontario (CANADA), 10-12 July 2009


Mathematical Knowledge Management is the field at the intersection of mathematics, computer science, library science, and scientific publishing. Its development is driven by on the one hand new technological possibilities which computer science, the Internet, and intelligent knowledge processing offer, and on the other hand the increasing demand by engineers and scientists for new techniques for producing, transmitting, consuming, and managing sophisticated mathematical knowledge.

The conference is concerned with all aspects of mathematical knowledge management. Topics covered include, but are not limited to:

  • Representations of mathematical knowledge
  • Repositories of formalized mathematics
  • Mathematical digital libraries
  • Diagrammatic representations
  • Multi-modal representations
  • Mathematical OCR
  • Mathematical search and retrieval
  • Deduction systems
  • Math assistants, tutoring and assessment systems
  • Authoring languages and tools
  • MathML, OpenMath, and other mathematical content standards
  • Web presentation of mathematics
  • Data mining, discovery, theory exploration
  • Computer Algebra Systems
  • Collaboration tools for mathematics
  • Challenges and Solutions for Mathematical workflows

Paper Submission

Papers may be submitted in either of two categories: as full papers or as short communications.

All papers submitted to the conference will be reviewed. Submission is electronic in Postscript or PDF format via the EasyChair system at http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=mkm09. Submitted papers must conform to the Springer LNCS style, preferably using LaTeX2e and the Springer llncs class files available at http://www.springer.com/lncs.

Full papers should not exceed 15 pages, must be original and not be submitted for consideration elsewhere. A submission not accepted as full paper will automatically be considered as a short communication, unless requested otherwise in the submission.

Short communications are of a less formal nature to provide a forum for the presentation of works in progress. They may be up to 5 pages in LNCS style. Depending on the number of short communications accepted, presentation may be as a short talk or as a poster.

By submitting a paper the authors agree that if it is accepted at least one of the authors will attend the conference to present it.

Important Dates

March 3, 2009 Full paper abstract submission
March 10, 2009 Full paper submission
March 20, 2009 Short communication submission
April 6, 2009 Acceptance notification
April 20, 2009 Camera ready files due
July 10-12, 2009Conference


Past proceedings of the MKM conferences have been published in the Springer-Verlag series Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and this conference intends to continue that tradition.


The following workshops take place in conjunction with MKM 2009:

  • The "Mathematical User-Interfaces" Workshop 2009 (MathUI09), which is organized by Paul Libbrecht.
  • A Workshop "Towards a Digital Mathematics Library", which is co-organized by Petr Sojka and Michael Doob.
  • The "Compact Computer Algebra" Workshop 2009 (CCA09), which is co-organized by Elena Smirnova.
  • The "Pen-Based Mathematical Computation" Workshop 2009 (PenMath P09), which is co-organized by George Labahn.

If you are interested in organizing one, contact the CICM 2009 Chair Stephen Watt at Stephen.Watt@uwo.ca as soon as possible.


The conference will be held in Grand Bend, Ontario. This is a favourite Canadian vacation spot in a natural setting on the shore of Lake Huron. Grand Bend can be reached most conveniently from the London (Ontario), Toronto, Buffalo or Detroit international airports.

Program Committee

Laurent Bernardin (Maplesoft, Canada)
Olga Caprotti (U Helsinki, Finland)
Simon Colton (Imperial College, UK)
Tetsuo Ida (Tsukuba U, Japan)
Mateja Jamnik (U Cambridge, UK)
Tudor Jebelean (RISC Linz, Austria)
Alejandro Jofre (U Chile, Chile)
Michael Kohlhase (Jakobs U, Germany)
Azzeddine Lazrek (U Marakech, Morocco)
Paul Libbrecht (DFKI, Germany)
Bruce Miller (NIST, USA)
Robert Miner (Design Science, USA)
Laurence Rideau (INRIA, France)
Claudio Sacerdoti Cohen (Co-Chair) (U Bologna, Italy)
Elena Smirnova (Texas Instruments, USA)
Volker Sorge (U Birmingham, UK)
Masakazu Suzuki (U Kyushu, Japan)
Joseph Urban (Charles U, Czech Republic)
Stephen Watt (Co-chair)(U Western Ontario, Canada)
Freek Wiedijk (Rabdoub U, NL)